Ionia DUI Lawyer
In Michigan, driving while under the influence is legally known as operating while intoxicated (OWI). These charges are some of the most common in Ionia, and they come with serious consequences for individuals that are convicted. Many times people face these charges when they do not know they are over the legal limit, and in other instances, people can be charged with this crime even when they are not over that limit. Whatever the case is, any person that has been charged with an OWI must speak to an Ionia DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Types of DUIs in Ionia
There are three types of DUIs in Ionia. These include:
- OWI: The most common type of DUI in Ionia, a person will face this charge when they are operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08%.
- High BAC OWI: Also known as being super-drunk, law enforcement may lay these charges when a person is found operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.17% or more.
- Operating while visibly impaired (OWVI): This DUI charge in Michigan is unique because it does not require a minimum BAC. With this charge, law enforcement can make an arrest if they notice and believe that a person is impaired. For example, a driver that is weaving in and out of lanes may face OWVI charges even if they are not over the legal limit.
No matter what type of DUI charge a person is facing, they are also facing harsh penalties.
Penalties for DUIs in Ionia
The penalties a person will face for a DUI conviction will depend on the type of DUI charge they are facing. For the most common type of charge, an OWI, a person may be sentenced to:
- No more than 93 days in jail or a maximum of 24 months of probation
- Maximum $500 fine
- Six points on their driver’s license
- Automatic 30-day license suspension
- $1,000 driver’s responsibility fee for two years following conviction
The penalties for an OWVI conviction include:
- Up to 93 days in jail or 24 months of probation
- Up to $300 in fines
- Four points on the driver’s license
- An automatic driver’s suspension of 90 days
- A $500 driver’s responsibility fee for two years
The penalties for a high BAC OWI conviction include:
- Maximum jail sentence of 180 days or 24 months of probation, or both
- Fines between $200 and $700
- Mandatory enrollment in an alcohol rehabilitation program for at least one year
- Automatic driver’s license suspension of 45 days
- Requirement of ignition interlock device for 320 days
- Six points on the driver’s license
- $2,000 driver responsibility fee for two years
These penalties apply to first offenses. Subsequent offenses come with harsher penalties. Additionally, due to the fact that OWI is a violation of the Michigan Vehicle Code, and not the Michigan Penal Code, these charges and convictions cannot be expunged from a person’s record.
Charged with a DUI? Call Our Michigan DUI Lawyers
DUI charges in Michigan are very serious, but an Ionia DUI lawyer will give anyone facing charges their best chance of beating them. If you have been charged, call us at Van Den Heuvel Law Office. We know the best defenses to use in these cases, and we will put our experience to work for you. Call us today or contact us online to speak with one of our attorneys about your legal options.