Ludington DUI Attorneys

Ludington DUI Attorneys

Ludington DUI Attorneys

In Michigan, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is called ‘operating while intoxicated,’ or OWI. Some of the most common criminal charges surround OWIs, and while some individuals do not know they are over the legal limit, others are surprised to learn they are facing charges even when they are below the legal limit. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding any specific case, anyone facing charges should speak to a Ludington DUI attorney who can prepare a solid defense.

Types of OWIs in Ludington

Many people mistakenly believe there is just one OWI charge in Michigan. In fact, there are three different types of charges a person may face, which are as follows:

  • OWI: Anyone that operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than the legal limit of 0.08% may be charged with an OWI.
  • High BAC OWI: Not all OWIs are treated equally in Ludington. When someone operates a motor vehicle with a BAC equal to or greater than 0.17%, they are considered super drunk and will face more serious charges.
  • Operating while visibly impaired (OWVI): The most surprising of all OWI charges in the state, a person may be charged with an OWVI if law enforcement believes a driver is impaired. For example, a driver may weave in and out of lanes but after being pulled over, a breathalyzer may show they are under the legal limit. Still, because the driver was visibly impaired, they may still face charges.

Anyone faced with these charges should speak to a Ludington DUI attorney who can help them avoid the most serious consequences of a conviction.

Penalties Associated With OWIs in Ludington

Convictions for OWIs in Ludington and throughout Michigan vary depending on the type of charge a person is facing. A standard OWI comes with penalties of up to 93 days in jail, a $500 fine, and an automatic driver’s license suspension of 30 days. 

The penalties associated with an OWVI are similar to those of an OWI. They include a maximum of 93 days in jail, a maximum $300 fine, and a driver’s license suspension of 90 days. 

Individuals that are found to be super drunk will face much stiffer penalties. A maximum jail sentence of 180 days, a maximum fine of $700, and a driver’s license suspension of at least 45 days are just a few of the penalties a person may face.

While these penalties are harsh, they apply to first offenses only. Subsequent offenses will result in much more serious consequences. It is also important to note that because OWIs are outlined in the Michigan Vehicle Code, and not the Penal Code, the charges cannot be expunged from any criminal record.

Our Michigan DUI Attorneys can Help With Your Charges

Being arrested with a DUI in Michigan is serious, but our Ludington DUI attorneys at Van Den Heuvel Law Office can help you beat the charges. Our knowledgeable attorneys know the defenses to use in these cases and we will put our experience to work for you. Call us today or contact us online to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys and to learn more about your legal options.


We See Legal Challenges
Where Others See Problems.

Request A Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Call Now Button