616-698-0000

4920 Broadmoor SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

×
Menu
Search

Wyoming, MI Divorce Lawyer

Wyoming, MI Divorce Lawyer

Divorce is difficult for anyone going through it, regardless of whether the spouses involved are able to remain amicable throughout the process or not. Divorce always signals the end of one way of life and the beginning of another that most people never expected to face. If you are getting divorced, a Wyoming, MI divorce lawyer will understand not only the legal terms, but the emotional issues you are facing, as well. The right attorney will combine compassion with legal knowledge to get you the best divorce settlement possible.

No-Fault Divorce in Wyoming

Michigan is a no-fault divorce state. This means that if one spouse wants to file for divorce, he or she can do so without proving wrongdoing on the part of the spouse. To file for divorce, a person only has to establish that there has been a breakdown of the marital relationship to the extent that there is little chance of reconciliation. 

This, however, does not mean that fault or wrongdoing will not have any place in a divorce proceeding. For example, if one spouse used many of the marital funds on an extramarital affair, a judge may award the other spouse more in property division to make up for that loss.

Jurisdiction Requirements for Divorce in Wyoming

Jurisdiction is important in Michigan. This term refers to which court has the power to decide on a matter that is being disputed as part of the divorce proceedings.

Under state law, anyone wishing to get divorced in Michigan must have lived in the state for 180 days. This is not required of both spouses, but one spouse must fulfill this requirement. Additionally, to file a divorce petition in Wyoming, one of the spouses must have lived in Kent County for at least 10 days immediately before filing.

Waiting Period for Divorces in Wyoming

There is a waiting period for any divorce in Michigan. When there are no minor children involved, that waiting period is 60 days from the day the divorce petition is filed. 

For divorces involving minor children, there is a mandatory waiting period of six months from the day the petition is filed. This waiting period is longer in the hopes that the spouses will reconcile and keep the family unit together.

In either instance, a judge may waive the waiting period if they see fit. For example, a judge may waive the waiting period if the marriage involves domestic violence. 

Do Not Go Through Divorce Alone, Call Our Michigan Divorce Attorneys

Divorce is difficult, and no one should go through it alone. At Van Den Heuvel Law Office, our Wyoming divorce attorneys can help you understand the laws in Michigan that surround divorce and guide you through the entire process. If you are thinking about divorce, or have already started the process but do not have representation, call us today or contact us online. We will negotiate with the other side to get you a fair settlement while also trying to finalize your divorce as quickly and as smoothly as possible.

Call Now Button