fbpx
Menu
Search

Domestic Violence Vs. Aggravated Domestic Assault Charges

Home
Blog
Criminal Law
Domestic Violence Vs. Aggravated Domestic Assault Charges

Domestic Violence Vs. Aggravated Domestic Assault Charges

Posted in Criminal Law
by Van Den Heuvel Law Office

When you are facing any kind of allegations of domestic violence, it is critical to understand that domestic violence is a crime in Michigan, and that you could be facing criminal charges. It can be difficult to understand with clarity, however, whether you are facing a criminal offense of “domestic violence” or if you are facing specific criminal charges under Michigan law. Generally speaking, the term “domestic violence” is an umbrella term that refers to different types of violent criminal offenses that are committed (or attempted) against a person with whom the defendant has a domestic relationship. In any domestic violence criminal case, the person who is facing charges must have had a domestic relationship with the alleged victim, which means that they must be current or former spouses, currently or formerly in a dating relationship, share a child, or currently or formerly share a residence. 

Within the category of domestic violence, there are specific criminal charges that include domestic assault under Michigan law and aggravated domestic assault charges under Michigan law. Our Michigan domestic violence defense lawyers want to provide you with more information about the distinctions.

Domestic Assault in Michigan

Domestic assault is one type of domestic violence offense under Michigan law. This specific offense does not need to involve any kind of physical injury in order for a person to face charges. Rather, threats of bodily injury alone can be enough for a person to be charged and convicted. This offense is typically charged as a misdemeanor for a first offense or a second offense, which can result in penalties of up to 93 days in jail for a first offense and a fine of up to $500, or one year in jail for a second offense and a fine of up to $1,000. For a third offense, the crime will be charged as a felony, and a person can face penalties of up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Aggravated Domestic Assault in Michigan

Aggravated domestic assault is charged in cases where a person sustains injuries that require that person to receive medical care. For a first offense, aggravated domestic assault can still be charged as a misdemeanor, with possible penalties of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. For a second offense, aggravated domestic assault will be charged as a felony, and a person can face up to two years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $2,500.

Beyond domestic assault, domestic violence allegations also may result in other or additional types of charges depending upon the particular circumstances and facts of the case.

Contact Our Michigan Domestic Violence Attorneys

Are you facing domestic violence charges in Michigan? You need an experienced Michigan domestic violence defense lawyer on your side who can help you to fight these charges, whether you are facing a misdemeanor or felony offense. A criminal defense lawyer at our firm can assist you. Contact Van Den Heuvel Law Office to learn more about our services.

Categories

Archives

Other Posts

Posts You May Like

CONTACT US

We See Legal Challenges
Where Others See Problems.

Request A Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Call Now Button