Driver’s license suspension can significantly complicate your life. If you don’t have a driver’s license, you may have trouble getting to work, caring for family members and handling other responsibilities. Michigan’s public transportation systems aren’t always efficient, and having a car is essential to so many day-to-day operations. So it’s no surprise that license suspension can completely transform a person’s routine.
Despite the inconveniences, don’t allow yourself to be tempted to drive on a suspended license. There are severe repercussions if someone is found to be driving with a revoked license. Your first step should be to contact a criminal defense lawyer who is experienced in Michigan traffic law. For specific legal advice, call the Van Den Heuvel Law Office.
There are many possible reasons someone may lose their driving privileges, and many causes of driver’s license suspension are related to traffic offenses. Michigan judges may choose license suspension as an appropriate sentence for a range of criminal charges, including:
No matter the reason your driver’s license was suspended, you can face jail time and other charges if you drive without a valid license. In Michigan, driving on a suspended license is considered to be a misdemeanor. If it’s your first offense of this kind, you may face up to 93 days in prison and fines of up to $500. Subsequent convictions result in higher penalties, including a year in prison and $1,000 in fines.
Driving with a revoked license is generally more serious than a suspended license. When a driver’s license is revoked, the only way to regain your driving privileges is through license restoration, which involves plenty of paperwork, hearings and other steps. A revoked license is notoriously more difficult to solve than a suspended license, which is automatically reinstated once the sentence has been completed.
The penalties for driving on a suspended license are often more severe if you were involved in an accident. What would have been a misdemeanor becomes a felony. If someone was hurt, or if the damage is serious, the penalties will likely be even higher. Depending on the exact circumstances, the charges may include fines between $1,000 and $5,000, as well as up to 5 years in jail. Driving under suspension and causing an accident that results in someone else’s death could mean 15 years of jail and fines of up to $10,000.
It’s common for individuals to drive on a suspended license, sometimes without even realizing it. A suspended license can severely complicate many aspects of your life, so talk to a knowledgeable attorney right away to explore possible solutions. Schedule an initial consultation at the Van Den Heuvel Law Office to begin working towards a resolution in your traffic offense case.
Co-parenting is the joint effort of both parents to provide for a child after the marriage has ended. While co-parenting may not ...
White collar crime is a category of the law that focuses on financial-related transgressions made by corporate and government officials. While white ...
Driver’s license suspension can significantly complicate your life. If you don’t have a driver’s license, you may have trouble getting to work, ...