Michigan Man Caught Shooting Trophy Buck Without a License
A man from Lapeer County is facing charges after it was discovered that he did not have a hunting license at the time he shot a 13-point buck and posted the photos on Facebook. Officials compared the timeline for when the man posted his hunting accomplishment on social media with when he purchased a hunting license after the Michigan Department of Natural Resources received a tip on their hotline.
Conservation officials visited the man and when they mentioned the discrepancy in the timeline the man admitted to buying the license after he shot the buck. It is not clear what legal action will be taken, but he could face as much as 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Michigan Hunting Violations
Every hunter in Michigan has a duty to know the laws and how they relate to their fishing and hunting privileges. These laws are revised regularly, and it is the hunter or fisherman’s duty to know when those laws change. When the Department of Natural Resources issues a ticket, there are mandatory penalties that must be enforced if you are convicted.
- Violation of permits for hunting and fishing, hunting or fishing out of season, shooting during prohibited hours, bag limit violations, and improper methods for taking game: These violations can be penalized by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
- Illegally taking a deer: This carries a minimum penalty of five days in jail, but up to 90 days and can lead to restitution of up to $1,000 per deer and an additional $1,000 if the deer has antlers. For a trophy deer, an additional restitution of $500 for each point may be ordered. Hunting privileges may be revoked for up to three years, or up to five years if the deer has antlers. This suspension increases if it is not a first offense. The bow or other firearm may be subject to forfeiture as well.
- Illegally taking a moose or elk: This also carries a mandatory jail sentence of up to 90 days and restitution of $5,000 per animal. Trophy elk carry additional restitution penalties of $250 per point for antlers between eight and 10 points and $500 per point for animals with more than 11 points. Antlered moose carry a penalty of $5,000. Hunting privileges will be revoked for 15 years for the first offense and lifetime revocation will occur after the second offense.
- Illegal use of an artificial light with a bow, crossbow, or firearm: This carries a penalty of up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 as well as the loss of hunting privileges for up to two years.
- Carrying a firearm while under the influence of drugs or alcohol: This can result in up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Contact an Experienced Michigan Attorney Today
These offenses and other DNR violations require you to have experienced legal representation to ensure that your rights are protected. In certain situations, the charges may be able to be settled or litigated to avoid or reduce penalties. Contact the attorneys at Van Den Heuvel Law Office today and schedule a consultation.