616-698-0000

4920 Broadmoor SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

×
Menu
Search
header of courthouse with columns where compassionate Grand Rapids criminal defense lawyers fight for clients' rights.
Michigan Super Drunk Law

Michigan Super Drunk Law

If you are pulled over for OWI/DUI in Michigan and chemical testing shows a high alcohol concentration, you could face severe penalties under state’s super drunk laws. At the Van Den Heuvel Law Office, our Grand Rapids OWI attorneys have over 24 years experience in representing clients in these types of cases. We provide the aggressive legal representation needed to help avoid heavy fines, a potential jail sentence, and the loss of your driving privileges.

High OWI Charges In Michigan

Under the Michigan Vehicle Code (MVC 257.625), driving under the influence of any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance is illegal in the state and could result in a charge of Operating While Visibly Intoxicated (OWVI). If chemical testing determines you have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you will be charged with Operating While Impaired (OWI).

Effective in 2010, Michigan passed so-called ‘Super Drunk’ laws and began classifying OWI charges in two distinct categories:

  • Basic OWI, involving a BAC at or above .08 percent;
  • High OWI, involving a BAC above .17 percent.

As high OWI charges involve BACs that are over two times greater than the legal limit in Michigan, the penalties involved with these charges are significantly more severe.  

Penalties Under Michigan Super Drunk Laws

If convicted of an OWI under Michigan super drunk laws, potential penalties include the following:

For a First High OWI Offense

  • Fines up to $700;
  • Up to 180 days in jail;
  • Up to 360 hours of community service;
  • Mandatory alcohol treatment classes;
  • Six points on your driving record;
  • Up to one year license suspension;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

For a Second High OWI Offense

  • Fines up to $1,000;
  • Up to one year in jail;
  • Six points on driving record;
  • Revocation of driving privileges;
  • Potential vehicle forfeiture.

For a Third or Subsequent High OWI Offense

  • These are felony criminal charges;
  • Fines up to $5,000;
  • Up to five year imprisonment;
  • Revocation of driving privileges;
  • Vehicle forfeiture.

In addition to the above, drivers incur additional costs under the state Driver Responsibility Program. Those with a first or second conviction under Michigan super drunk laws would have to pay a $1,000 fee for two years in a row, for a total of $2,000.

Get the Strong Legal Defense You Need Against OWI Charges

With so much at stake with high OWI charges, get the strong legal defense you need and contact the Van Den Heuvel Law Office. Our Grand Rapids, Michigan OWI attorneys will work with you to build your case, with the goal of getting your charges reduced or dismissed. Do not take chances when it comes to your future. Call or contact us online and request a consultation today.